Lee team first to hit the beach at annual Tubie race

Winners of the 2016 Tubie race pose immediately after their success, from left, Jordan Smail, Robert Jordan, Matt VanMoorsel, Robert Farlinger, Nancy Jordan, Allison Lee, Isabella Jordan, Andy Lee, Sarah Dickey and Katherine Lee. Zandbergen photo, Nation Valley News

MORRISBURG — A brisk headwind ensured no record-breaking performances in this year’s Morrisburg Tubie race. In the same trusty craft that Oakville’s Robert Farlinger and crew paddled to victory for several years, a variation of the same team — captained by Katherine Lee — repeated as champions Sun., July 31, in a time of 36:02.

Farlinger, who missed last year’s race but was back aboard in 2016, said this was his ninth time on a winning Tubie team. But he was “just paddling” in this year’s appearance, he explained, deferring to Lee, niece of his brother-in-law. “She’s the boss.”

“He was very helpful. He’s a professional,” Lee said of Farlinger’s return to the crew. She attributed their overall success to keeping good timing as a group of paddlers.

Sponsored by the South Dundas Chamber of Commerce, nine teams took part in the race. The last squad completed the 4-km journey from Arlor Haven Campground to the Morrisburg beach in 67:26.

The video below shows the start of the race through to the Lee team’s arrival at the Morrisburg beach.

Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search nationvalleynews.com. Scroll down to comment.