Chris Raabe captures second Canadian Nationals Series feature in a row at Cornwall Speedway

Courtesy photo by S. Lauwers

Martin Bélanger
Special to Nation Valley News

CORNWALL – Cornwall Motor Speedway kicked-off a busy month as the second round of the Canadian Nationals Modified Series and the final race of the Cindy Ladouceur Memorial Mini-Stock Series were presented Aug. 6 along with a complete program on West Front Construction Night.

Francois Bernier took the lead in the 125-lap Canadian Nationals Modified Series over Bobby Herrington and Kayle Robidoux as they quickly got into lap traffic. Herrington was able to pass Bernier on lap 11 in these conditions as caution was out. On the restart, Herrington still the leader with Jordan McCreadie to the second spot with Bernier still in third. A lot of shuffle in the top spot on lap 45 as Bobby Herrington and Luke Whitteker headed to the pits for mechanical issues, McCreadie was the new leader with Robidoux and Chris Raabe your new top 3 with 50 laps in the books. As the leaders were in lap traffic Robidoux was able to get to the lead on lap 61 with Mario Clair and Danny Johnson now in the top 5. Laps clicked off on the feature as Danny Johnson rolled over in the backstretch on lap 84 and red was out. On the following green, Raabe took the lead over Robidoux with David Hebert now in third after starting 29th. Raabe got a few challenges from Robidoux in the last portion but resisted to the challenges as he collected a second win in a row in the Series over Robidoux and Hebert collecting the top 3.

In the 25-lap Assist2Sell Tracy Wheeler Sportsman feature David Rogers took the lead. Rogers in control over Steve Morris and Emmanuel St-Denis. Rogers pulled away as Shane Pecore made his way to the front taking fourth on lap 8 after starting in 14th. Rogers got into lap traffic with less than 10 to go with Morris trying to close the gap. Rogers led all 25 laps to capture his first win at Cornwall over Morris and Pecore.

A few position swaps in the first laps in the Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock as Dave Bissonnette took the lead over Kevin Fetterly and George Renaud. Bissonnette was strong in front but slowed down on lap 15 and gave the lead to Renaud. On the restart, Jeffrey Lapalme surprised Renaud for the lead but Renaud was to the lead on two laps later. Renaud led the final laps and become the first to win 2 features in the Pro-Stocks this season.

The Cindy Ladouceur Memorial Series was first on the speedway as Karl Potvin was the early leader over Richard Thornton as Marc Dagenais made his way to the front of the field. A lap 12 restart saw Dagenais powered by Potvin for the lead. Dagenais never looked back and went to win over Potvin and Thornton. With his win, Dagenais was crowned the champion over Tyler French and Mike Gaucher. Dagenais also won the special Dash for Cash.

Action continues next Sunday evening as all division will have a regular night in preparation for the big event scheduled on Thursday, August 17 with the Modified having a 150-lap event paying $10,000 to win, 50 laps for the Sportsman and twin 15s for the Mini-Stocks.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for results and contests over the summer.

Canadian Nationals Modified Series Results (125 laps)

Chris Raabe, Kayle Robidoux, David Herbert, Bobby Herrington, Jordan McCreadie, Danny Bilodeau, Mathieu Boisvert, Steve Bernier, Kyle Dingwall, Chris Herbison, Steve Bernard, Carey Terrance, Michael Parent, Yan Bussiere, Tim O’Brien, Mario Clair, Francois Bellemare, Louis Jackson Jr., Erick Rudolph, Mathieu Desjardins, Corey Wheeler, Danny Johnson, Joey LaDouceur, J.F. Corriveau, Luke Whitteker, Dany Gagne, Zach Aubertine, Brian McDonald, Brianna LaDouceur, Gage Morin.

Cindy Ladouceur Memorial Mini-Stock Series Feature Results (25 laps)

Marc Dagenais, Karl Potvin, Richard Thornton, Dustin Bode, Josh Kirkland, Mike Gaucher, Dylan Kirkland, Justin LeRoux, Francis Desjardins, Tyler French, Alexis Charbonneau, David Arbuthnott, Skylr LaDouceur, Corey Gates.

Tracy Wheeler Assist2Sell Sportsman Feature Results (25 laps)

David Rogers, Steve Morris, Shane Pecore, Emmanuel St. Denis, Thomas Cook, Derek Cryderman, Alex LaJoie, Tyler Givogue, Justin LaLancette, Cedric Gauvreau, Patrick Pitcotin, Brianna LaDouceur, Adam Rozon, Kurtis Cayer, Jarett Herbison, Tommy Jock III, Scott McGill, Kelvin Lalonde, Junoir DeLormier, Billy Cook, Gabriel Cyr, Zach Arquiett, Brent Lozo, Chris Ferguson, Tristan Draper, Delbert LeGrow jr., Ricky Thompson.

Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Feature Results (25 laps)

George Renaud, Dave Seguin, Stephane LeBrun, CD Beauchamp, Roch Aubin, Jeffery LaPalme, Rob Ray, Kody Kelly, Marc LaLonde, Kevin Fetterly jr., Dave Bissonette, Justin Desrosiers, Marco Lalonde, Marc Jean-Louis.


Advertisement — Chesterville Fair
The 86th Annual Chesterville Fair is just around the corner. Gear up for the action and fun, Aug. 25-27, 2017, at the fairgrounds.

Advertisement — SD&G County Library job opportunities

Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search Scroll down to comment.