NDDHS faculty among recipients of excellence awards at UCDSB 2018 Celebration Night

Zandbergen photo, Nation Valley News

KEMPTVILLE —  The Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB) recognized excellence in members of its staff and volunteers on Monday during the 2018 Celebration Night awards

ceremony. Held at North Grenville District High School, the night recognized recipients of the Upper Canada District School Board Service Excellence Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, and Director’s Award of Merit, and the Ontario Principals’ Council Award of Character.

“We are pleased to recognize excellence in our staff and community members and to thank them for the valuable contributions they make to our students and our system,” said Director Stephen Sliwa.

“We are proud to honour those people who help our system advance student learning through volunteerism, acts of caring, and quality service to our students and our system,” added Chair Jeff McMillan.

Recipients recognized at this year’s awards are listed below.

UCDSB Volunteer of the Year Awards:

  • Lisa Magee, UCDSB Overall Winner, Duncan J. Schoular Public School
  • Eva Parker, Grenville Family of Schools, Centennial ’67 Public School
  • Jim Kent, River Family of Schools, Thousand Islands Elementary School
  • Marylou Richardson, Rideau Family of Schools, Wolford Public School
  • Kathleen Millar, Dundas Family of Schools, North Dundas District High School
  • Roberta McCormack, Lanark North Family of Schools, R. Tait McKenzie Public School
  • Joy Kehoe, Lanark South Family of Schools, Drummond Central School
  • Moira Sanders-Dorey, Highland Family of Schools, Rothwell-Osnabruck School
  • Rev. James Douglas, Prescott-Russell Family of Schools, Pleasant Corners Public School
  • Claudette Lazzari, Cornwall Family of Schools, Viscount Alexander Public School
  • Flora Francis, Brockville Family of Schools, Vanier Public School

Ontario Principals’ Council Award of Character:

  • Ray Westendorp, Principal, Wellington Elementary School.

Service Excellence Awards:

  • Maria Barzso-Paul, North Stormont Public School
  • Kim Palmer, North Stormont Public School
  • Debbie Morand, Kemptville Public School
  • Health and Physical Education Team (Kristen Drouin, Shelly Thompson, Todd Spencer, Sarah Cordick, Stacey Armstrong, Jacob Swarbrick), Smiths Falls and District Collegiate Institute
  • Donna Lafrance, Russell Public School 
  • Kevin Gray, Thousand Islands Secondary School
  • Heather Mortimer, Carleton Place High School

Director’s Award of Merit:

• Valerie Allen, Superintendent of Schools
• Nancy Clow, Gananoque Intermediate and Secondary School
• Kathleen Gignac, TR Leger School of Adult, Alternative and Continuing Education
• Susan Steele, Pakenham Public School
• Gordon Zubyck, Russell High School
• Jenn Burke, TR Leger School of Adult, Alternative and Continuing Education
• Teresa Dolan, Brockville Collegiate Institute
• Leanne Huffman, South Crosby Public School
• Gary Kenney, Rideau District High School
• Megan McConnell, Viscount Alexander Public School
• Margaret Roy, Maple Grove Public School
• Lindsay Casselman, Pineview Public School
• Lindsey Howes, Glengarry District High School and Tagwi Secondary School
• Ryan Metcalfe, Frankville Board Office
• Kris Wiley, Perth and District Collegiate Institute

Article has been revised to reflect corrected information sent by the UCDSB


Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search nationvalleynews.com. Scroll down to comment.