Lead-up to British Home Child Day to be marked at Aultsville Train Station

The great-grandchildren of British Home Child Edwin Baker are pictured with Edwin’s trunk. From left: Jack Wood, Cyrus Saroughi, Hannah Wood.

MORRISBURG — In the lead-up to British Home Child Day, members of the Ontario East British Home Child Family — in partnership with the Parks of the St. Lawrence — will be available at the British Home Child Museum, located in the Aultsville Train Station, 13480 Country Road 2 at British Home Child Lane Morrisburg, Ontario.

Between 1869 and 1948 over 100,000 children from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales came to Canada as part of the Child Migration Scheme to work as indentured servants on the farms and in the homes across Canada. These children, whose ages ranged between 3 and 18 years, had been placed in orphanages, workhouses and other institutions due to socio-economic conditions in Great Britain before
being sent to this country. Other commonwealth countries received British children, referred to as child migrants, up until the mid 1970’s.

On selected weekends, members of the OEBHCF will be present at the Aultsville Train Station to shine the light on the untold stories of the British Home Children. Learn how these young children came to Canada with all their worldly goods packed in a travelling case and the hope for a brighter future in their hearts.

The British Home Child Museum will be open on the following dates between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m.: Saturday, Aug. 25; Sunday, Aug. 26; Saturday, Sept. 1; Sunday, Sept. 2; Monday, Sept. 3; Saturday, Sept. 8; Sunday, Sept. 9; Saturday, Sept. 15; Sunday Sept. 16; Saturday, Sept. 22 ; and Sunday, Sept. 23.

Sept. 28, 2018, is the eighth British Home Child Day in Ontario and first British Home Child Day in Canada. The Lost Villages Museum, located in South Stormont’s Ault Park, will be the location of the celebrations of these two significant events on Saturday, Sept. 29.
For more information on the British Home Child Museum, British Home Child Day in Ontario or British Home Child Day in Canada,  contact this organization at oebhcf@gmail.com or visit their Facebook group.

Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search nationvalleynews.com. Scroll down to comment.