SNC Board elects new executive

Above, Front (left to right): Doug Thompson, Past Chair; Bill Smirle, Chair; George Darouze, Vice-Chair. Middle (left to right): Stephen Blais, Ottawa; Gerry Kautz, Ottawa; Angela Coleman, SNC General Manager/Secretary- Treasurer; Dana Farcasiu, Leeds Grenville; Pierre Leroux, Prescott Russell; Peggy Taylor, Leeds Grenville. Back (left to right): Stéphane Sarrazin, Prescott Russell; Michael Brown, Ottawa; Archie Mellan, Stormont Dundas Glengarry; Daniel Lafleur, Prescott Russell. Absent: Steve Densham, Stormont Dundas Glengarry. Courtesy photo

FINCH — Members appointed by South Nation Conservation’s (SNC) 16-member municipalities were confirmed at the Authority’s Annual General Meeting on Thursday, March 21.

Bill Smirle, representing Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, was elected the new Chair. George Darouze, Councillor for the City of Ottawa’s Osgoode Ward, was elected Vice-Chair and Doug Thompson was confirmed as Past Chair.

Composed of 13 members, SNC’s Board of Directors oversee the Authority’s budget, programs and services, and work alongside staff to champion local conservation initiatives.

The annual general meeting is always well attended by past and current elected officials and staff from partner municipalities. SNC’s 2018 Annual Report was presented at the annual meeting and highlighted achievements from the last year and ways in which the Conservation Authority worked with municipalities to engage communities to improve the environment. A copy can be found online:

Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search Scroll down to comment.