Darouze is new South Nation Conservation Chair

SNC's 2020-2021 Board Executive, pictured left to right, Vice-Chair Pierre Leroux (Mayor of Russell), Chair George Darouze (Councillor, City of Ottawa, Osgoode Ward), and Past Chair Bill Smirle (SDG Representative).

FINCH — Board Members appointed by South Nation Conservation’s (SNC) 16 member municipalities were confirmed at the Authority’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) today, Sept. 17, with Ottawa Councillor George Darouze elected as watershed authority’s new Chair.

Pierre Leroux, Mayor of Russell Township, was elected Vice-Chair, and Morewood resident Bill Smirle was confirmed as Past Chair and Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry representative.

Composed of 13 members, SNC’s Board of Directors oversee SNC’s budget, programs and services, and work alongside staff to champion local conservation initiatives.

Today’s AGM also marked the first time since February that the Board has met in-person at the authority’s head office in Finch while following health and safety precautions.

The public meeting was live-streamed online and is available to watch on the Conservation Authority’s public YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/SouthNationCA.

Scroll down to share this article. Scroll down to search nationvalleynews.com. Scroll down to comment.